The FMR Jazz Workshop Biggish Band will be doing it's monthly thing at the Independent Armchair Theatre again this week Saturday, 1 November.

Fresh from our first trip up the West Coast, successfully hosting the Jazz Picnic at the Langebaan Festival, we're keen to be back in home territory. Expect the usual indigenous fare, half of which are new original compositions, and the rest our footstomping renditions of South African Jazz standards JWBB-style (i.e. hats-on-shoes-off ...). Original compositions by Mertyn Barrow, David Ledbetter, Douglas Armstrong, John Davies and arrangements of some lesser-known masterpieces by the likes of Zakes Nkosi, Hugh Masekela, Dollar Brand, Chris McGregor and more ..

Mandisi Dyantjis, one of our guests this week,
pictured at a previous performance at the Armchair in Sept 2002

Pic. Andre van der Merwe

Guests for this one include Mike Horn (Golliwog, D.A. Band), Mandisi Dyantjis, Ross MacDonald (The Rudimentals), Eddie Boyd (Salsa Candela).

Then, after this relatively quite period, we'll have the following gigs coming up to end off a busy year:

  • 28 November, Pinelands Town Hall, Fund Raiser for Gaia Waldorf School situated in Oude Molen Village

  • 6 December, Independent Armchair Theatre

  • 14 December, Oude Libertas, Stellenbosch, Summer Season Sunset Concert

This Saturday's gig starts at 21h00 and the entrance to the Armchair is R25 (student discounts if you're convincing enough, group discounts if there's more than 30 of you, and pensioners, well if they make it to the gig they're welcome, the youngsters will even give you a seat .. )

The JWBB is an amateur Big Band based in Cape Town, and lead by trombonist Jannie 'Hanepoot' van Tonder
The JWBB plays original compositions written for the band, as well as arrangements of South African Jazz standards.

Saxes: Chris Dippenaar, John Ntshibilikwana, John Thorne, Graham Thorne, Nick Green
Trumpets: Charlie Heyes, Douglas Armstrong, Dumani Katywa, Stephen Draper
Trombones: Andrew O'Donoghue, Shelley Williams, Simon Hough, Matthew Grant
Rhythm (gt, pno, bs, dms): Rick Beckman, Ralston van der Schyff, Sidney McKinnon, Mike Horn

More info: / 072 189 2481
or phone Cynthia at the Jazz Workshop on 424 4956
or check out

Click this link to be removed from this mailing list: