The Jazz Workshop Biggish Band will be performing at the Generations Cafe (also known as the G-Spot), Viking Business Park, Epping,  this coming Sunday October 31. The G-Spot is presenting an evening called Big Band Cabaret and is featuring 2 bands on this occasion.

At 19h30 the Little Giants will perform a 45 minute set. The Little Giants is a 12-piece band, with all it's members under the age of 18, playing a broad selection of Light Jazz and African Jazz under the leadership of Ezra Ngcukana and George Werner.

After the Little Giants, starting at 20h30, the Jazz Workshop Biggish Band will perform 2 sets of it's trademark South African repertoire, consisting of original compositions by Merton Barrow, Douglas Armstrong, David Ledbetter and band leader Jannie 'Hanepoot' van Tonder as well as new arrangements of existing South African tunes by the likes of Zakes Nkosi, Chris McGregor, Hugh Masekela, Dollar Brand, etc..

The G-Spot is one of Cape Town's premier jazz venues -- this 'cosy decadent' establishment hosts live music 5 nights a week, and has seen the likes of Ernie Smith, Tony Schilder, Alistair Isobell, Allou April, Garth Taylor & Jimmy Dludlu on stage. It is located behind Grand West Casino in Epping Industria (see the map below).

On Sunday night doors open at 19h00 and there is a cover charge of R40.00. For further information contact Calvin (021) 535 1873 or email

*If you have problems seeing the pictures you can view this press release with images at

Here's a map to the G-Spot


Upcoming JWBB Performances:

  • St. Luke's Hospice 'Jazz in the Park', Rondebosch Park, Friday 26 November

  • Acoustic Cafe Muizenberg Wednesday 15 December

  • Jazzathon, V&A Waterfront, 6-9 January

  • Yellow Door, Gugulethu, 23 January

  • Masque Theatre, Muizenberg 20 February

Hope to see you at one of these ..


The JWBB is an amateur Big Band based in Cape Town, and lead by trombonist Jannie 'Hanepoot' van Tonder
(5 saxes, 4 trombones, 4 trumpets, 5 rhythm)

The JWBB plays original compositions, as well as new arrangements of South African Jazz standards.

Saxes: Charles Hart, John Ntshibilikwana, John Thorne, Graham Thorne, Nick Green
Trumpets: Charlie Heyes, Douglas Armstrong, Dumani Katywa, Stuart Bowen, Daniel Kaplan
Trombones: Andrew O'Donoghue, Shelley Williams, Simon Hough, Matthew Grant, Matthew Willis
Rhythm (gt, pno, bs, dms, perc): Rick Beckman, David Ledbetter, Sidney McKinnon, Ted Frazer, Keith Coxon

More info: / 072 189 2481
or check out

Bookings: Nick Green 021 797 7628  or Graham Thorne 021 794 5928

Click this link to be removed from this mailing list: